Hyderabad, March 09, 2015 (Agencies) Former minister Utham Kumar Reddy today took charge as Telangana Congress president at Gandhi Bhavan here. Simultaneously, Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka also assumed charge as working president.

Earlier, Utham Kumar Reddy came in a rally to the State party headquarters “Gandhi Bhavan” from his residence at MLA Colony at Jubilee Hills. On the way, Utham called on his predecessor and former minister Ponnala Lakshmaiah at his residence. Many Congress leaders and activists participated in the rally.

It may be mentioned here that AICC president Sonia Gandhi replaced Ponnala Lakshmaiah with Utham Kumar Reddy as TPCC president. Besides, Sonia appointed Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka as working president. Utham is noted for having cordial relations with national leaders which got him a bounty.

Speaking after assuming charge as the new TPCC chief at Gandhi Bhavan here on Sunday, Uttam Kumar Reddy said the Telangana Congress would launch a massive campaign to expose the failures of TRS Government and pressurise it resolve the problems being faced by the people. He announced that the TPCC would start a helpline wherein people could forward their grievances. Those complaints would be followed up by the Congress leaders.

Stating that youth would be given preference in the party, Uttam Kumar Reddy appealed to the seniors to given proper guidance to bring the party back to power in next elections. Accusing the TRS Government of harassing the Congress workers across the Telangana State, he warned of serious protest if the harassment continues.

The new TPCC chief alleged that the TRS Government has failed on all fronts. He said that the TRS has hijacked the "Bangaru Telangana" slogan from the Congress party and came to power on the basis of fake promises. He said that the government was not serious on the welfare of people and entire government is revolving around Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao and his family.

The meeting was also addressed by Leader of the Opposition K Jana Reddy, CLP leader in Legislative Council D Srinivas, former Deputy Chief Minister Damodar Rajanarasimha, ex-union minister S Jaipal Reddy, TPCC Vice-President Mohammed Ali Shabbir, Youth Congress president Vamshi Chandra Reddy, former ministers Dr J Geetha Reddy, Sabitha Indira Reddy and Danam Nagender, former MP M Anjan Kumar Yadav and other legislators and leaders.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

The Union Government has extended the nationwide lockdown 5.0 till June 30 but phase-wise relaxation in non-hotspot zones? Do you think this is the right move?

Can't Say