In a reversal of early trends, the JDU-led grand alliance is surging ahead of the BJP-led NDA is leading more than 140 seats, well above the half-way mark needed for forming the government in Bihar.

The Nitish Kumar-led grouping is leading in 146 of the 243 seats as counting of votes progressed fast in the five-phased elections that concluded on November 5.

The rival alliance has been projected to get 83 seats and the 'Others' eight.

Initial trends on television channels projected the BJP to be in the lead.

In the last assembly polls in 2010, the JDU had won 115 seats while BJP won in 91 when both parties had an alliance. RJD had got 24 and Congress 5, contesting separately.

Senior minister Shyam Rajak is trailing at Phulwarisharif (reserved SC) seat in Patna district to his HAM rival.

At Imamganj (reserved SC seat) Jitan Ram Manjhi of HAM is leading over JD(U) rival Uday Narayan Chaudhary by 3,735 votes.

Though EC trends are not available for two prime seats of Mahua and Raghopur in Vaishali district from where Lalu Prasad's two sons Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejaswi Yadav are fighting, TV channels showed the elder son was leading while the younger son Tejaswi Yadav was trailing in Raghopur.

Counting is in progress at 39 counting centres in 243 counting halls.

A total of 243 observers from Election Commission have been deployed to supervise the counting process.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Invalid Api key or channel id

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party deserves to win in the UP elections 2022?

Samajwadi Party