Lok Sabha witnesses disruptions from start

Wed 22 Jul 2015, 12:37:49
New Delhi: The Lok Sabha today witnessed a stormy start as opposition Congress members displayed placards to protest over the Lalit Modi controversy and other issues, forced adjournment of proceedings for nearly an hour.

Soon after the House met for the day, Congress members took out placards and displayed black badges with Speaker Sumitra Mahajan objecting to it as "inappropriate".

Some TRS members were also seen holding placards demanding a separate High Court in Telangana.

As soon as Mahajan called for the Question Hour, BJP and Congress members got into heated exchanged, as the opposition party members trooped into the Well holding placards, reading 'Bade Modi meherban, to chhote Modi pehelwan' (a Hindi idiom meaning that a small person is strong if supported by a powerful person) and 'PM chuppi todo' (PM, break your silence).

Earlier, Mahajan referred to the notices of adjournment motions moved by members of Congress, CPI(M), Trinamool Congress and TRS and said that though the matters were important, they did not deserve to be discussed after adjourning the House proceedings.

TRS members were also in the Well with their demand for a separate high court in Telangana. At present, the state shares its high court with Andhra Pradesh.

Despite Speaker's repeated appeals against displaying of placards, the opposition members continued with the protest. "You don't want the question hour to run ...the House stands adjourned till 12 noon," she said adjourning the proceedings.

Earlier when the proceedings began, Speaker referred to deaths in accidents and natural calamities in various parts of the state, besides an ambush on army personnel in Manipur and terrorist attacks in Afghanistan, Tunisia, Kuwait and France and termed terrorism as a scourage.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2022?

Gujarat Titans
Lucknow Super Giants
Rajasthan Royals