The Election Commission has announced that polls to 59 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on 23rd of next month. In a statement issued by the commission today said, the counting of votes will take place on the same evening and the notification will be issued on 5th of March.

The term of the members representing these seats is going to expire in April- May this year. These seats include ten from UP, six each from Maharashtra and Bihar, five each from West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, four each from Gujarat and


The members, whose terms are ending, include Union ministers Arun Jaitley, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Dharmendra Pradhan, J P Nadda, Thaawar Chand Gehlot and Ramdas Athawale. The commission will also hold by-election to one Rajya Sabha seat of Kerala on the same date. The seat has fallen vacant following the resignation of Veerendra Kumar. 

In August 2017, the BJP had overtaken the Congress to become the largest political party in Rajya Sabha with 58 members against 57 of the main opposition party.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say