TRS corporators Nannapuneni Narender and Khaja Sirajuddin were elected unanimously as the first Mayor and Dy Mayor of Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation (GWMC) here on Tuesday.
In a special meeting organised on the premises of GWMC, presiding officer and in-charge Collector Prashanth J Patil administered oath to the newly-elected corporators in the presence of Municipal Commissioner Sarfaraz Ahmed.
In accordance with the party decision, the TRS’ 37 Division corporator K Sambaiah proposed the name of Narender to the Mayor post and seventh Division corporator K Padma Janardhan of the party supported him.
For the Deputy Mayor seat, 26th Division TRS corporator G Prakash Rao proposed the name of Sirajuddin and his name

was supported by 32 Division corporator M Aruna. Since no other names were proposed for the posts, both Narender and Sirajuddin were announced elected Mayor and Dy Mayor  unopposed by the presiding officer. 
The Mayor and Dy Mayor  said they would strive to ensure ‘honest and transparent’ governance to the people under GWMC during their tenure. ‘We will work in coordination with all local legislators and corporators for the purpose’ they added. 
Narender thanked the CM for trusting him and making the Mayor  of Warangal. “Though the Mayor seat reserved for open category, the CM made me the Mayor even as I belong to the backward community. I profoundly thank the CM for this,” he said.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Men's cricket team will win the T20 World Cup 2024?

New Zealand