Bye-Election to the Assembly constituency of Dantewada in Chhattisgarh and Hamirpur in Uttar Pradesh are being held today. Voting will start at 7 a.m. and end at 6 pm in Hamirpur and 3 pm. in Dantewada, which is Maoist affected district.

Around 18,000 security personnel are deployed for the bye-poll in this sensitive constituency reserved for scheduled tribe.

In Hamirpur constituency, 476 booths have been set up at over 256 polling centres where 4 lakh one thousand 497 voters would be exercising their franchise.

The election for this constituency was necessitated after the sitting MLA Ashok Singh Chandel was disqualified by the court of law. There are nine candidates in the fray. BJP, Congress, BSP and Samajwadi Party have fielded their candidates.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

The Union Government has extended the nationwide lockdown 5.0 till June 30 but phase-wise relaxation in non-hotspot zones? Do you think this is the right move?

Can't Say