Vijay Rupani sworn in as Gujarat CM

Mon 08 Aug 2016, 10:59:40
Vijay Rupani was sworn in as the 16th chief minister of Gujarat on Sunday, after a week of uncertainty within the ruling BJP following the resignation of Anandiben Patel. Nitin Patel took oath as the deputy chief minister. 
Governor O P Kohli administered the oath of office to Rupani, Nitin and 23 ministers — seven Cabinet rank and 16 ministers of state — at the Mahatma Mandir convention centre here.
The swearing-in ceremony was attended by BJP national president Amit Shah, veteran leader L K Advani, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Chief Ministers Manohar Lal Khattar (Haryana), Devendra Fadnavis (Maharashtra) and Raghubir Das (Jharkhand), and outgoing chief minister Anandiben. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is said to have called up Rupani and his team and congratulated

“We will hold the first Cabinet meeting tomorrow and portfolios will be announced soon,” Rupani said. He refused to comment on whether regional sensitivities had played a role in the formation of his new council of ministers. “Everything after tomorrow,” was all Rupani said.
Those retained from the previous government include Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, who continues to hold a Cabinet rank. Two junior ministers in the Anandiben ministry, Jayesh Radadia and Dilip Thakor, have been elevated to the Cabinet rank. Speaker of the Gujarat Assembly and tribal leader Ganpat Vasava as well as deputy speaker and member of the Dalit community Atmaram Parmar have also been elevated to Cabinet ministers.
There is only one woman legislator, Nirmala Wadhwani from Ahmedabad, in the 25-member ministry.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think Rishi Sunak can win the race to be the next UK prime minister?

Can't Say