Amritsar: In Punjab, Union Home Minister and Minister of Cooperation Shri Amit Shah will preside over the 31st meeting of the Northern Zonal Council in Amritsar today.

Northern Zonal Council comprises the states of Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, and the Union Territories of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, and Chandigarh. The meeting is being organized by the Inter-State Council Secretariat under the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, in collaboration with the Government of Punjab. Elaborate arrangements have been made for the smooth conduct of this meeting. The guests will be given a glimpse of rich Punjabi culture. 

The meeting will be attended by the Chief Ministers of the member states along with two senior ministers from each state and the Lieutenant Governors/Administrators of the Union Territories. The Chief Secretaries other senior

officers of the State Governments and Union Territories and senior officers of the Central Government will also participate in the meeting.

This Northern Zonal Council will discuss a wide range of issues in this meeting. These issues include Bhakra Beas Management Board, affiliation to Punjab University, road construction work under Pradhan Mantri Grameen Sadak Yojana PMGSY, Canal projects, and water sharing, issues related to reorganization of states, development of infrastructure, land acquisition, environmental and forest-related clearance, regional connectivity under the UDAN scheme and other issues of common interest at the regional level. 

Tight security arrangements have been made in Amritsar in the wake of this high-level meeting and police officials from neighbouring districts have been deployed. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)