Gujarat Congress MLAs Akshay Patel and Jitu Chaudhary on Thursday handed over their resignations to Speaker Rajendra Tiwari ahead of the June 19 Rajya Sabha polls, PTI reported. Polls for four Rajya Sabha seats will be held on June 19.

“I have accepted their resignations,” Trivedi told reporters in Gandhinagar. “They now cease to be legislators.”

Patel spoke to Karjan seat in Vadodara, while Chaudhary had won from Kaprada seat in Valsad in the December 2017 Assembly races. 

Prior, in March, five Congress MLAs had surrendered. The Bharatiya Janata Party presently has 103 officials in the 182-part Assembly, while the Congress has 66.

The BJP has fielded Abhay Bhardwaj, Ramila Bara and Narhari Amin for the Rajya Sabha polls, while the Congress candidates are senior leaders Shaktisinh Gohil and Bharatsinh Solanki.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should Online education system introduced from primary to higher level from the academic year 2020-2021 in Telangana State due to Coronavirus pandemic?

Can't Say