Ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) continued its winning streak by bagging the Khammam Municipal Corporation and Achampet Nagara Panchayat while it was close to victory in Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation.
The humiliation was complete for the Opposition Congress, TDP, BJP, Left Parties and YSR Congress in all the three civic bodies. Counting of votes were taken up on Wednesday morning in Warangal, Khammam and Achampet. The outcome of Achampet Nagara Panchayat was announced in less than 50 minutes.
Till reports last came in, out of 50 divisions in Khammam Municipal Corporation, TRS won 34 divisions and leaving the rest to Opposition parties. In Warangal, it had bagged 25 divisions out of the results of 34 divisions in the 58-member civic body. The TRS was leading in 44 divisions in Warangal.
But, most remarkable victory was in Achampet Nagara Panchayat in Mahabubnagar. In the 20-member newly formed civic body, the TRS won all the wards.
Curiously, the Congress, TDP-BJP and other parties had formed into a grand alliance to take on the TRS in Achampet but bit the dust. The margin of victory in this civic body was reasonably good. Out of the 20 wards, 11 wards were won by women candidates.
Winning TRS candidates in Achampet credited their victory to the good work done by Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao. Role of Industries Minister Jupally Krishna Rao and Achampet MLA Guvvala Balaraju also came in for praise by the TSR leaders.Reacting to the results in Warangal, Khammam and Achampet, Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyam Srihari said that the latest results should be an eye opener for all the Opposition parties.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the MLC elections in Telangana?