Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) on Thursday nominated senior leaders D Srinivas and V Lakshmikantha Rao as its candidates for the two vacancies from the state in the Rajya Sabha. 
Lakshmikant Rao is a close relative of former prime minister PV Narasimha Rao and participated in the Indo-Pak war. Rao has been close to KCR and had played an active role in the agitation for separate state. 
Rao had represented Huzurabad constituency as MLA and also served as a minister in the coalition government of YS Rajasekhar Reddy between 2004 and 2005.
While it was foregone conclusion that Rao would be sent to Rajya Sabha, it is said that the name of Srinivas, a former state Congress president who was a senior minister in the government of undivided Andhra Pradesh and had joined TRS last July was supported by K Kavitha. Srinivas is at present an adviser to the state government on inter-state issues.
Thanking the Chief Minister for proposing his name for the Rajya Sabha, Srinivas  said that he would help the Chief Minister in achieving the dream of Bangaru Telangana.
Talking to reporters after the party announced candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections, Srinivas said, “The main aim of the Chief Minister is to develop the state. 
In the 120-member Telangana Legislative Assembly, TRS has 82 members, followed by Congress (19), MIM (7), BJP (5), TDP (3), CPI (1), CPI (M) (1), Nominated (1), Independent (1). TRS can get two of its candidates elected on its own strength. 
TRS on Thursday also decided to nominate former minister Fareeduddin as its candidate for the MLC seat vacated by state Roads and Buildings Minister Tummala Nageswara Rao. The minister got elected as an MLA in the recent bypoll.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party alliance will form the next government after Bihar assembly elections 2020?