Telangana government on Thursday decided to increase the number of districts to 24 or 25 from the existing 10 districts in the state. The new districts are likely to begin functioning from August 15 or on Dasara this year.     
An announcement on the creation of new districts is expected to be made by Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on June 2 on the occasion of Telangana Formation Day.  Creation of 40 new mandals in addition to present 438 mandals is also under active consideration.    
The Chief Minister held a  high level meeting with the officials and party leaders on Thursday on the creation of new districts. This was promised by the ruling TRS in its election manifesto during the 2014 elections.
Since the Centre had hastened process for the delimitation of the Assembly constituencies in the state, the government wants to complete the process of carving out of new districts as early as possible.  Hence, the Chief Minister instructed the officials to prepare an action plan and speed up the process for the creation of new districts and mandals and prepare modalities in a scientific manner.  
He told the officials that the increase in the number

of districts would help the state get more Central funds and grants as the Centre has taken district as a unit for the allocation of funds for implementing developmental programmes and the establishment of Central institutions.
KCR discussed in detail the problems faced by people in availing government services including education, revenue, medical and legal aid due to huge distance between district head quarters and villages. He wanted to decentralise the administration and ensure that people access government services easily.
The Chief Minister asked the officials to identify the urban areas developing on fast pace around Hyderabad and promote them as district head quarters. He felt the decentralisation of the administration is a first step towards the development and also help create and employment opportunities for youth in the new districts. 
KCR also directed Chief Secretary Rajiv Sharma to kick start the process for the construction of new buildings for Collector and SP offices in the new districts. Deputy Chief Minsiter and Revenue Minister Mohamood Ali, Deputy Speaker Padma Devendar Reddy, State Planning Board Vice Chairman S Niranjan Reddy and others were present in the meeting.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Should the NTA be replaced with a new testing body?

Can't say