In the wake of a fire that claimed two lives at the Rohini Super Specialty Hospital management, the Warangal police have filed a case against two doctors and the management of the hospital. The doctors allegedly fled the operation theatre when the fire broke out, leaving a patient to die.
A total of 199 patients were rescued by the police and fire prevention personnel after fire broke out in the third floor of the hospital on Monday, 16 October.
The two deceased have been identified as Jatti Kumaraswamy, a resident of Bhupalapally, and Mallamma, who died later while being treated at the MGM hospital, Warangal.
The case - under section 304 A (causing death by negligence) - against the hospital staff was filed at the Subedari police station on 17 October, following a complaint by Lakshmi, wife of Jatti Kumaraswamy .
Kumarswamy was reportedly

given anaesthesia and taken to the operation theatre. When the fire broke out, the doctors allegedly abandoned him, leaving him to die of suffocation.
However, the doctors claimed that if they didn't vacate the place they would have been consumed by the raging fire, reported The New Indian Express.
A team, comprising five departments, made a visit to the hospital on Tuesday to probe the reasons for the fire. Preliminary investigation revealed that the fire was caused due to a leakage from the oxygen cylinder. The team members said that they would submit a detailed report to the district administration within two days, reported The Hindu .
Earlier Warangal Commissioner G Sudheer Babu had informed that the rescued 199 patients were shifted to six other hospitals in the city. Meanwhile, Rohini Super Specialty hospital remained closed on Tuesday.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will form the government in Telangana state on December 9?

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)