President Ram Nath Kovind yesterday gave assent to the Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill, 2020, which was recently passed by the parliament.

The Act makes Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi, English and Urdu as the official language of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Earlier only Urdu and English were the official language for the Union territory.

According to the 2011 census, the present population of Jammu and Kashmir is over one crore 21 lakh. The number of people speaking Urdu in the Union Territory is very less.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Should govt go ahead and open schools in Telangana State?

Can't Say