The President has approved awards of 384 Gallantry and other Defence decorations to Armed Forces personnel and others on the occasion of 73rd Republic Day celebrations. These include 12 Shaurya Chakras including, 29 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, 4 Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, 53 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 13 Yudh Seva Medals, 3 Bar to Vishisht Seva Medals, 122 Vishisht Seva Medals, 3 Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry). 

Besides,  81 Sena Medals (Gallantry), 2 Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry), 40 Sena Medals for Devotion to Duty, Eight  Nao Sena Medals and 14 Vayu Sena Medals have been approved Devotion to Duty. Out of the total 12 Shaurya Chakra Awardees, 9 of them have been awarded posthumously. They include Subedar Sreejith M of 17th Battalion of the Madras Regiment, Havildar Anil Kumar Tomar, Rajput Regiment, the 44th Batallion The Rashtriya Rifles and Havildar Pinku Kumar, the Jat Regiment, 34th Battalion the Rashtriya Rifles.

Olympian Neeraj Chopra who is a Subedar in the Indian Army has been honoured with Param Vishisht Seva Medal on the eve of Republic Day. Neeraj Chopra won the gold medal for India in the javelin throw event at Tokyo Olympics.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2022?

Gujarat Titans
Lucknow Super Giants
Rajasthan Royals