New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will grace the closing ceremony of the 400th birth anniversary celebration of great Ahom general Lachit Barphukan in New Delhi today. The Prime Minister greeted the nation on the occasion of Lachit Diwas yesterday. 

In a message, Mr Modi said, this Lachit Diwas is special because it marks the 400th birth anniversary of the great Ahom general Lachit Borphukan. He said Lachit Borphukon epitomised unparalleled courage, adding that he placed the well-being of people above everything else.

It has been a constant endeavour of the Prime Minister to honour unsung heroes in a befitting manner. In line with this, the country is celebrating 2022 as the 400th birth anniversary year of Lachit Barphukan. The celebrations were inaugurated in February this year by the then President Ram Nath Kovind in Guwahati.

Lachit Barphukan was a famous General of

the Royal Army of the Ahom Kingdom of Assam, who defeated the Mughals and successfully halted the ever- expanding ambitions of the Mughals under Aurangzeb. Lachit Barphukan inspired the Assamese soldiers in the Battle of Saraighat fought in 1671, and delivered a crushing and humiliating defeat to the Mughals.

The Assam government organized three-daylong events in the national capital to let people know more on the valor and patriotism of Lachit Barphukan. An exhibition and panel discussions have also been organized to mark the occasion. People of Assam last night litted earthen lamp across the state following the appeal of Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma as a tribute to Lachit. Rajya Sabha member and Political Secretary to the Assam Chief Minister Pabitra Margherita hoped that this initiative of the Assam government would help in spreading the heroics of Lachit Barphukan.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the assembly elections in Gujarat?

AAP party