Patna: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has said that the priority for his new government will be progress with justice and inclusive growth. He said in Patna on Sunday that the promises of common programme of the alliance will be honoured.

He also said there will be no ill will against anybody and the government will work with the opposition with a positive approach for the development of the state.

Nitish Kumar said Prime Minister Narendra Modi had congratulated him.

He expressed hope that the package announced by the Prime Minister for Bihar before the elections would be implemented. The Chief Minister said Bihar needs Central assistance.

Meanwhile, just after the election results, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh said that the Centre is committed to provide the Rs. 1.25 lakh crore economic package announced by Mr Modi for Bihar.

Speaking to reporters in New Delhi, Mr Singh said the BJP and the Centre respect the mandate given by the people of Bihar.

The Grand Alliance of Janta Dal(United), Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress won 178 seats in the 243-member Legislative Assembly, well ahead of the two-third mark of 162.

Of this, RJD bagged 80 seats, JDU 71 and Congress 27.

The NDA secured 58 seats of which BJP got 53 seats. Lok Janshakti Party, LJP and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party, RLSP bagged two seats each while Hindustani Awam Morcha, HAM has got one. Others have won seven seats.

In percentage terms, the victorious combine registered an overall 41.9 percent with RJD getting 18.4 per cent, JD (U) 16.8 per cent and Congress 6.7 per cent.

The NDA got 33.9 per cent votes, of which the BJP secured 24.4 percent.

Meanwhile, BJP Parliamentary Board, the party's highest decision-making body, will meet in New Delhi today to analyse Bihar election results.

AIR correspondent quoting BJP sources reports, the BJP Parliamentary Board, of which Prime Minister Narendra Modi is a member, is likely to meet post-lunch today to assess the defeat of the party and ascertain reasons for it.

Meanwhile, BJP President Amit Shah while conceding defeat congratulated Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and RJD chief Lalu Prasad on their massive victory and said his party respected the people's mandate.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Which political party will win the MLC elections in Telangana?