Former India cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, badminton coach Pullela Gopichand, Olympics medallists PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik, and Paralympics medallist Deepa Malik are set to be honoured with the Padma awards on the eve of India’s Republic Day.
Dhoni, who had led Team India to the numero uno position in Test cricket, and also led the side to glories in the 2007 ICC World T20, the 2011 World Cup and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.
PV Sindhu capped off a brilliant year in 2016, winning the Malasian Grand Prix Gold tournament, and then going on to clinch a silver

medal in the women’s singles event at the Rio Olympics. She is now playing in the Syed Modi Grand Prix, which is currently going on in Lucknow.
Sakshi Malik and Deepa Malik created history last year, as the former became the first Indian woman to win a medal in wrestling in the Olympics, while the latter became the first female Paralympics medallist for India, last year.
The Padma awards were started in 1954, to felicitate Indians, who have excelled in different fields – arts, literature, sports, social work, medicine, science, civil service, and others.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear

Do you think opposition presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha will win the election?

Can't Say