Mamata Banerjee files nomination paper

Sat 09 Apr 2016, 10:14:07

In West Bengal, several heavyweight candidates including Trinamool Congress, TMC, chairperson and Chief Minister, Mamata Banerjee filed their nomination papers yesterday.

Her opponents on Bhawanipur seat Congress’ Dipa Dasmunsi, supported by Left Front, and BJP candidate Chandra Kumar Bose also filed their candidature for the seat at the Alipur Survey Building election office in Kolkata. TMC candidates from Behala Paschim, Partha Chatterjee and from Behala Purba, Shovan Chatterjee also file their nominations with Ms. Banerjee.

Mrs Dasmunsi later alleged that a procession of her supporters to the nomination office was stopped by the Police while TMC leaders’ supporters were allowed without interference. Filing of nominations for the third phase polling ended.

State CEO’s office informed  that till Thursday evening,185 nominations were filed for 33 seats in Uttar 24 Parganas district and 110 for 16 seats in Howrah district. Voting for the third phase will be held on 25th April.

On the other hand, filing of nominations for the fifth phase polling to be held on 30th April is underway. Till yesterday, 80 nominations were received for 31 seats in Dakshin 24 Parganas district, 51 for 18 seats of Hooghly and seven nominations for 4 seats of Dakshin Kolkata were filed.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party deserves to win in the UP elections 2022?

Samajwadi Party