Hindi Divas is being celebrated across the country today. It was on this day in 1949 that the Constituent Assembly adopted Hindi written in Devanagari as the official language of the country. Home Minister Amit Shah will present Rajbhasha Awards to chiefs of various departments, Ministries and offices for their outstanding performances in promoting the language.

Rajbhasha Hindi, spoken by around 40 per cent people across the country, is the single largest spoken language among the 22 languages in the sixth schedule of the constitution. Government has taken several steps to promote the Rajbhasha. And at the international forums, Hindi is being well received. The pioneer was the former PM Atal Behari Vajpayee whose address to the UN General Assembly is still recalled by one and all.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Which political party will win the municipal elections in Telangana?