The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha will commence today. The Rajya Sabha will sit from Thursday. The session will continue till 26th of next month. Since it is the first session of the new Lok Sabha, it will mainly be devoted to oath taking of newly elected MPs, election of Lok Sabha Speaker, the Motion of Thanks on the President’s address and financial business relating to Union Budget. 

The session will have 30 sittings of the Lok Sabha and 27 sittings of the Rajya Sabha. The Election of Speaker will be held on Wednesday while  President  Ram Nath Kovind will  address both the Houses of Parliament on Thursday. 

The Union Budget will be presented  on  5th of next month. 46 Bills have lapsed on dissolution of 16th Lok Sabha which were various stages in both the Houses and some of these important bills are likely to be revived and brought before Parliament. Ten Ordinances have been promulgated during the inter-session period which are to be replaced by Acts of Parliament. 

Besides Triple Talaq Bill, the legislations set to be introduced in the session are the Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Teachers Cadre) Bill and Aadhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill 2019.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should the Muslim Personal Law Board reject the Supreme Court offer of 5-acre land to construct a mosque in Ayodhya?

Can't say