After charges of laxity and partiality, the Election Commission removed 34 officials, including a District Magistrate and four Superintendents of Police, in poll-bound West Bengal last night. State Chief Secretary Basudeb Banerjee said, the decision will be effective from today. 
From today, the Election Commission is sending five special teams of observers that will assess and monitor poll preparedness and law-and-order situation in Bengal districts. The teams will be led by CEOs of Punjab, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Delhi. 
In addition, each team will have one IPS officer, one Joint CEO and two Commissioner-level officers. ​The teams will report to the Commission on 23rd March. Besides general observers the Commission is also deputing 21 Police observers for electoral duty in West Bengal.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Do you think the Kashmir will return to normalcy very soon?

Can't say