Election Commission today announced the schedule for Assembly elections in West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Puducherry. 

Assam will go to polls in 3 phases on 27th March, 1st, and 6th April. 

The assembly elections in the States of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Union Territory of Puducherry will be held in one phase on 6th April.

By-poll for Kanyakumari Lok Sabha constituency in Tamil Nadu and Malappuram Lok Sabha in Kerala will be held on the same day.

In West Bengal, the polling will be held eight phases from 27th March to 29th April. 

The counting of votes will take place on 2nd May.

Announcing the poll scheduled in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said the model code of conduct came into force with the announcement of the elections.

He said, Nearly 18.68 crore electors vote at 2.7 lakh polling stations for 824 seats in this election in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam, and Puducherry.

Mr. Arora said, vaccination drive has made the situation more conducive for elections and everyone on poll duty declared frontline workers for vaccine purposes.

The Chief Election Commissioner said, adequate CAPFs deployment shall be ensured during elections and all critical, vulnerable polling stations identified and an adequate number of CAPFs will be deployed.

He said, webcasting arrangements in place at polling stations in critical and vulnerable areas.

Mr. Arora said, door-to-door campaigning to be restricted to five persons including candidates and roadshows can be held.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll to be held on April 17?