The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on January 17 declared candidates for 57 of the 70 Assembly seats going to polls in the forthcoming Delhi Assembly polls.

BJP's Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari declared the list of candidates during a press briefing.

AAP rebel Kapil Mishra will contest from Model Town assembly constituency, while Ravindra Kumar Indraj will contest from Pawana constituency. Vijender Gupta will contest from Rohini while Pradyumn Rajput will contest from Dwarka.

The BJP's central election committee met on January 16 to finalise the party's candidates for the Delhi Assembly polls.

Its top leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president Amit Shah and Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari besides working president J P Nadda among others, held consultation at the BJP headquarters here over the names of probables for the February 8 elections to the 70-member Delhi Assembly.

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari was also part of the meeting. Delhi's ruling Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday had named all its candidates.

The BJP had won only three assembly seats in the previous assembly elections, while the AAP had won 67.

The elections will witness a triangular contest with the Congress being the third major player as political watchers believe that the BJP and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP are likely to be the main rivals in most of the seats.

Delhi assembly polls will be held on February 8 and the results will be declared on February 11, the Election Commission of India (EC) announced on January 6.

The term of the 70-member Delhi Assembly is ending on February 22 and a new House has to be constituted before that.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Do you think work from home culture will continue even after Coronavirus is over?

Can't Say