New Delhi: The central government has extended for another six months the application of the disturbed area under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, AFSPA in 12 districts of Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh. It has also been extended in certain parts of five other districts of the two northeastern states to facilitate the armed forces to continue the anti-insurgency operations. 

The notification issued by Home Ministry said that the AFSPA will be extended

for six months beginning today in nine districts -- Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek, Peren, and Zunheboto -- and 16 police stations areas in four other districts -- Kohima, Mokokchung, Longleng, and Wokha of Nagaland. Nagaland has 16 districts while Arunachal Pradesh has 26 districts. Union Home Minister Amit Shah had on March 31 announced to reduce the operation of AFSPA from April 1 in Assam, Nagaland, and Manipur.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the assembly elections in Gujarat?

AAP party