Centre announces Padma awards for 2016

Mon 25 Jan 2016, 18:53:55

Centre on Monday announced coveted “Padma Awards” for 2016 for those eminent personalities for their outstanding performance and illustrious contribution in various fields including Journalism, industry, Science and Technology, Spiritual, Dance, Film, Music, sports, etc., in the country.

The Centre used to offer the awards every year and for 2016 it announced 10 Padma Vibhushan, 19 Padma Bhushan and 87 Padmasri awards to prominent and distinguished personalities in their respective fields.

Those who will receive Padma Vibhushan awards are Eenadu Group Chairman Ramajo Rao for his contribution to journalism and Dhirubhai Ambani for his contribution to business (posthumously) and versatile actor Rajanikanth for his contribution for the Cinema field. Those others to receive Padma Vibhushan awards in the respective fields are – Yamini Krishna Murthy (Dance), Anupam Kher (Films), Sri Sri Ravishankar (Spirituality), Jagmohan former Jammu and Kashmir Governor and Girija Devi (Music) and Vishwanathan Shantha, Dr Vasidev Atre (Science and Engineering) and Avinash Dikshith.  

Similarly, Saina Nehwal for Badminton and Sania Mirza for Tennis will get Padma Bhushan awards among 19 others including Y Lakshmi Prasad, Dr Nageshwar Reddy, Udith Narayan, Vinod Roy, Brijender Singh, Baljinder Singh, Swamy Tejomayananda, Ram Suthar, Prof Ramanuja Thathacharya, Hisnam Kanhelal.

Rajamouli, Ajay Devgan, Priyanka Chopra, Ujwal Nikam, Avasthi and others got Padmasri awards. The President is to honor them with these awards in a ceremony in Delhi on Jan 26

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Will day night cricket Test matches increase the popularity in India?

Can't say