In West Bengal campaigning for the fourth phase of assembly, the election reached its feverish pitch. Top leaders of contesting political parties are making a last-ditch effort to garner the support of voters as canvassing will come to an end tomorrow evening for this phase.

In the fourth phase polling will be held on 10th April in 44 assembly segments spread over five districts Hooghly, Howrah, South 24 Pargana, Coochbehar, and Alipurduar districts. Campaigning for the fifth and sixth phases is also underway in full swing for poll-bound 88 assembly segments.

With an aim to gain the support of Hindi-speaking voters which play a crucial role in deciding the fortune of candidates in many segments, political parties including BJP and TMC have a special focus on them.

News reports that Bhojpuri cine stars Manoj Tiwari and Ravi Kishan are campaigning to woo the Purabia voters from Bihar and Uttar Pradesh region who are settled in Bengal. RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad Yadav who is supporting TMC also addressed several gatherings of Bhojpuri speaking voters.

Meanwhile, political bigwigs of BJP and TMC are holding election rallies in support of their party candidates. BJP state president Dilip Ghosh addressed rallies in Srirampur and Saptgram. He claimed that BJP is a time-tested party and it brings better governance and development. Senior Trinamool Congress leader Abhishek Banerjee alleged in Metiaburuz of South 24 Paragana that BJP is misusing central agencies against his party leader for political vendetta.  

Senior Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Choudhary who is solely campaigning for Congress party candidates in absence of national leaders of parties addressed rallies in Murshidabad and Jalpaigudi. Mr. Chaudhary alleged that the people of Bengal have lost their faith both in TMC and BJP. Leaders of left parties and alliance partner Indian Secular Front (ISF) in Sanyukt Morcha also holding public meetings.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll to be held on April 17?