The aspirants, who were expecting ticket from various political parties and those, who want to try their luck by contesting in Khammam Municipal Corporation elections, have launched their campaign by visiting each house in their divisions in Khammam city. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) is leading in campaigning for the Corporation elections followed by Congress, YSR Congress and TDP.
Led by district secretary Pothineni Sudharshan Rao, the CPM had already launched padayatra in every division two month ago, finding out the public problems and assuring that the CPM would fight against the government on the issues until they were solved. By declaring some of the candidates well before the release of elections notification and with the clean record of giving better ruling during the tenure of former councillors Chirravuri Lakshminarsaiah and Sameena Afroz, the party is racing ahead in election campaign.
After the

results of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections and the visit of Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao to Khammam, there was a rapid momentum in the ruling TRS. Many senior leaders and former councillors from other parties have joined the ruling party expecting ticket. Roads and Buildings Minister Tummala Nageshwar Rao held a meeting with some of the senior leaders at the party office here on Monday to choose the best candidate who can win the elections. 
Above all, it received a major blow on Monday with Ponnam Venkateshwarlu of Congress joining the TRS in the presence of R&B Minister T Nageshwar Rao. On the other hand, the TDP has lost its past glory with former MLC Potla Nageshwar Rao and many other leaders at division level leaving the party and with a great disaster in GHMC elections. It also lost its cadre in the district and now seeking the support of other parties to contest in the elections. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the assembly elections in Karnataka?

Janata Dal (Secular)