BJP's Pramod Sawant sworn-in as new Goa CM

Tue 19 Mar 2019, 10:38:48
BJP MLA Pramod Sawant was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Goa late last night. He succeeds Manohar Parrikar, who passed away on Sunday following a prolonged illness.

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 46-year-old Sawant. He represents Sankhalim constituency in Goa Assembly. 

The Governor also administered the oath to 11 other ministers, including those from BJP's allies Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Goa Forward Party (GFP). 

All the ministers who were part of erstwhile Manohar Parrikar-led Cabinet were sworn in by the Governor. MGP's two MLAs Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Ajgaonkar were sworn-in, while GFP MLAs Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palekar and Jayesh Salgaonkar also took the oath. 

BJP MLAs Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik and Nilesh Cabral also found a place in the Sawant-led Cabinet. Independent MLAs Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade were also sworn in by Governor.

Before taking oath as the CM, Mr Sawant resigned from the post of Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly. Talking to reporters, Mr Sawant said his party BJP has given him a big responsibility. He also credited Parrikar for bringing him into politics.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should Online education system introduced from primary to higher level from the academic year 2020-2021 in Telangana State due to Coronavirus pandemic?

Can't Say