Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest the upcoming state Assembly elections from Majuli. The BJP has decided to field Assam finance minister Himanta Biswa Sarma from Jalukbari Assembly constituency.

On Friday, the BJP released a list of 70 candidates for Assam. Votes for the state's 126-member Assembly will be cast in three phases between March 27 and April 6. The result will be declared on May 2.

National general secretary of the BJP, Arun Singh told reporters on Friday that the BJP will contest the upcoming Assam polls along with its two allies, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL).

While CM Sarbananda Sonowal is being fielded from Majuli and Himanta Biswa Sarma from Jalukbari, president of BJP's Assam unit Ranjit Das will contest the elections from Patacharkuchi in Bajali district.

Similarly, Ashok Singhal will contest from Dhekiajuli, Padma Hazarika from Sootea, Utpal Bora from Gohpur, Ganesh Kumar Limbu from Barchalla, Krishna Kumar Tanti from Rangapara, Pramod Borthakur from Biswanath, Ranjeet Dutta from Behali and Sanjib Kumar Bora from Dhing.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
learn quran online easily

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly by-poll to be held on April 17?