Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president Jagar Prakash Nadda on Monday resigned as Rajya Sabha MP from Himachal Pradesh, days after he was elected to the Upper House from Gujarat unopposed.

Nadda was among 57 Rajya Sabha MPs whose tenure was ending in April, 2024.

"Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, an elected member of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha), representing the State of Himachal Pradesh, resigned his seat in the Rajya Sabha and his resignation has been accepted by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha w.e.f 4th March, 2024," a Rajya

Sabha parliamentary bulletin read.

JP Nadda, a native of Himachal Pradesh, has represented the state since 2012 in the Rajya Sabha.

In the seat that fell vacant in Himachal Pradesh owing to Nadda’s term coming to an end on April 2, elections were held and in a nail-biting finish, BJP’s Harsh Mahajan was elected to the Upper House after he defeated Congress's Abhishek Manu Singhvi after draw of lots.

Mahajan was declared the winner by draw of lots after both the candidates were tied, securing 34 votes each.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the Lok Sabha elections 2024 in India?