In Andhra Pradesh, the State Cabinet in its meeting yesterday, gave approval for the formation of a Study Committee for the creation of new districts in the state.  The meeting was held under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Y.S.Jagan Mohan Reddy.

The Cabinet took several decisions at the meeting and prominent among them is its ratification for the formation of the study panel which will go into the feasibility of reorganizing the existing 13 districts into 25 districts.

The panel will submit its report by 31st of March next year to complete  the process of its study. The committee will be headed by the State Chief Secretary. The reorganization of the districts would be based upon the Parliamentary Constituencies in the state. There are 25 Parliamentary Constituencies in the state. The increase in the number of districts is one of the key pre-poll promises made by Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy.

However, the proposal for the creation of a 26th District also came up for the discussion in the Cabinet meeting. Discussion focused on the  Araku Parliamentary Constituency, as Araku agency Parliamentary Constituency has a large geographical area and is spread across four districts, East Godavari, Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram and Srikakulam.

Briefing the media, State Information and Public Relations Minister P. Venkatramaiah said that the Cabinet  also passed a resolution permitting the establishment of a Sand Corporation to monitor and address all issues related to sand mining transportation and its sale.  

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Will India win the four match cricket Test series against Australia?

Can't Say