In Bihar and Uttar Pradesh, all the candidates who filed their nominations for the biennial Election of the Members of Legislative Council, have been declared elected unopposed. 

Yesterday was the last day of withdrawal of nominations in both the states.

In Bihar, Eleven candidates had filed the nomination for the same number of seats. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi and former Chief Minister Rabari Devi are prominent among those who were elected unopposed to the state Legislative council.

The other eight members include two each from RJD, BJP and JD (U) and one each from Hindustani Awam Morcha and Congress.


In Uttar Pradesh, all 13 candidates, including two State ministers, who had filed their nominations were elected unopposed. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath met with the newly elected BJP members of Legislative Council and congratulated them. 

BJP won 10 seats while its ally Apna Dal and opposition parties SP and BSP clinched one seat each. With this win, BJP has improved its tally to 21 members in Legislative Council. 

However, Samajwadi Party will still have the upper hand in the Upper House with 55 members. BSP will now have 8 members in Legislative Council.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say