The trial of Spanish train Talgo, the lighter and faster vehicle whose speed goes up to 115 kms per hour, was conducted between Bareilly and Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh as part of the Railways' strategy to increase the speed of trains.
"It was a smooth ride," said a senior railway official after nine Talgo coaches were hauled by a 4,500 HP diesel engine on the 90-km line for the first trial run.
The train left Bareilly at 9.05 AM, moved at a speed ranging between 80-115 km per hour, and reached Moradabad at 10.15 AM, the official said.
As of now, the Delhi-Mumbai Rajdhani Express runs at an average speed of 85 km per hour. Besides reducing travel time, Talgo's lighter trains consume 30 per cent less energy. The nine-coach Talgo train consists of two Executive Class cars, four Chair Cars, a cafeteria, a power car and a tail-end coach for staff and equipment.
Hamid Akhtar, Executive Director of Railways' Research Designs and Standards Organisation (RDSO) who was on the Talgo train while on way back from Moradabad, said, "there will be three more such runs" before the success or failure could be assessed.
"It is difficult to say anything about the success or failure of the trial... We will record the timings and other parametres during the journey (in further runs)... The data will be analysed and then only we will be able to say anything. Nevertheless it was a smoth ride," he said.
Besides the officials, the coaches were filled with sand bags. There will be trial with empty coaches as well. After the trial run on the Bareilly-Moradabad line, it will be tried on Rajdhani route between Mathura and Palwal for 40 days with speed up to 180 km per hour.
The Talgo train coaches are lightweight and designed in a way that it can run on curves without decelerating the speed, the official said.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party alliance will form the next government after Bihar assembly elections 2020?