In Sri Lanka, the swearing-in ceremony of new Cabinet and State Ministers was held yesterday with the 28-member Cabinet administered oath of office by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. Dinesh Gunewardena will continue as Foreign Minister of the country as well as several other Ministers from the previous Cabinet.

President Rajapaksa kept the Defence Ministry with him while his elder brother and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa retained Finance and Urban Development. Mahinda’s son Namal became the youngest member in Cabinet with the Sports portfolio. Another member of Rajapaksa family Chamal Rajapksa took oath as Irrigation Minister with charge as State Minister of Internal Security.  

The new Cabinet took over in wake of the General Elections held last Wednesday where Rajapksa party received a landslide victory with a two-third majority. Mahinda Rajapksa was sworn in as Prime Minister on Sunday. A total of 39 State Ministers also took oath. 

Yesterday’s Cabinet swearing-in ceremony took place at the historic audience hall of the Sri Dalada Maligawa in Kandy.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Do you support Centre's move to scrap Question Hour in Parliament due to Covid-19?

Can't Say