Zaheerabad sees 67.8% voter turnout

Fri 12 Apr 2019, 11:37:49
The Zaheerabad Lok Sabha constituency recorded 67.8% polling up to 5 pm against its total electorate of 14.97 lakh.

Election officials said the percentage was expected to go up slightly when the final statistics would arrive late night.

Though the parliamentary constituency, spread across Sangareddy and erstwhile Nizamabad districts, recorded a much better voter turnout than State’s average polling of 60%, this was significantly down compared with the previous Lok Sabha and last Assembly elections. The constituency had recorded 74.83% and 75.75% polling in 2009 and 2014 respectively.

The seven Assembly segments – Andole, Banswada, Balkonda, Jukkal, Narayankhed, Yellareddy and Zaheerabad — witnessed a much better turnout than even the 2014 Parliament elections.

Apart from sitting TRS MP BB Patil, Congress candidate K Madanmohan Rao and BJP candidate Banala Lakshma Reddy, nine others were in the fray from this constituency.

The election went off peacefully in the three Assembly segments – Andole, Narayankhed and Zaheerabad — of Sangareddy district. The remaining segments fall under the erstwhile Nizamabad district.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Should India need more lockdown to contain Covid-19 cases?

Can't Say