TRS, MIM to lead GHMC standing committee

Tue 16 Nov 2021, 12:38:43
The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) Standing Committee, which will be formed after the 2020 municipal elections, will comprise eight Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) corporators and seven All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) corporators.

The final list of the contesting 15 candidates was declared as elected by GHMC commissioner DS Lokesh Kumar on Monday. The TRS corporators elected for Standing Committee include Samala Hema (Seethaphalmandi), Kurma Hemalatha (Bansilalpet), Devender Reddy Pannala (Mallapur), C N Reddy (Rahmath Nagar), M Srinivasa Rao (KPHB Colony), Ravula Sheshagiri (Gajularamaram), E Vjay Kumar Goud (Amberpet) and Y Premkumar from East Anandbagh ward.

The AIMIM corporators for the standing committee are Parveen Sultana (Ghansi Bazar), B Jabeen (Vijay Nagar Colony) Mirza Mustafa Baig (Riyasath Nagar), Rashed Farazuddin (Shaikpet), Mandagiri Swamy (Karwan), Mahapara (Kurmaguda) and M A Salam Shahid from Chawani ward.

The standing committee comprises of 15 corporators and is chaired by the Mayor. Since the number of contesting candidates was equal to the number of seats in the standing committee, the authorities had cancelled the standing committee elections, which were scheduled to be held on November 20.

A total of 18 candidates had filed their nominations for the post of standing committee members and later three withdrew their nominations. The BJP stayed away from the elections and their corporators from the party did not file nominations.

Out of 150 GHMC corporators, 56 are from TRS, 47 from BJP, 44 from MIM and 3 from Congress. The standing committee will meet every Thursday along with other civic body officials to take decisions on developmental activities to be taken up by GHMC.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Invalid Api key or channel id

neerus indian ethnic wear

Which political party deserves to win in the UP elections 2022?

Samajwadi Party