TRS bags all 3 seats in Rajya Sabha polls

Sat 24 Mar 2018, 10:53:57
The TRS bagged all three Rajya Sabha seats for which elections were held on Friday. 

TRS candidate B. Prakash received 33 votes, and J. Santosh Kumar and B. Lingaiah Yadav received 32 votes each. Meanwhile, Congress candidate P. Balaram Naik received only 10 votes. 

Elections were held for three Rajya Sabha seats in Telangana on Friday. 108 MLAs cast their vot-es, out of a total of 117. Five BJP MLAs, two TD MLAs and one CPI(M) MLA abstained from voting. MLA Revanth Reddy, who left the TD to join the Congress, did not cast his vote. 

The Congress has 11 MLAs, including indepe-ndent MLA D. Madhava Reddy, who showed his vote to

Congress agents. However, Mr Reddy’s vote was declared invalid on the basis of a complaint filed by TRS agents. The rules dictate that MLAs must only show their votes to agents of their own parties. If a party has no agent, then the MLAs of that party should not show their votes to anyone.

MLA Ravindra Kumar, who defected from the CPI to the TRS, did not show his vote to agents of the TRS or agents of the Congress. 

The TRS has 90 MLAs, and it also has the support of the MIM, which has 7 MLAs. The three candidates of the TRS received 97 votes in all.To win the Rajya Sabha elections, each candidate must have the support of at least 30 MLAs. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say