In Telangana, amidst tight security arrangements, polling has begun in Hyderabad to elect new corporators for Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation during its general election. Through ballot paper, over 74 lakh electors will elect 150 corporators out of which at least 50 per cent will be women.
Polling has commenced at 7 AM and will continue till 6 PM at 9101 polling stations across 4 districts, Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medchal Malkajgiri and Sangareddy. 

Elaborate arrangements have been made by the authorities to ensure fair and free polling besides safety of electors in the wake of COVID pandemic. 
The State Election Commission authorities have made elaborate arrangements for ensuring each and every elector to exercise their vote, even in the pandemic conditions. COVID positive electors will also be allowed to cast their vote but during the last hour of the polling. However, they are allowed to utilise postal ballot also.
Besides, electors above 80 years of age, persons of differently abled, have also been given this opportunity besides officials on polling duty. Ten COVID-19 kits have been kept at each polling station in addition to sanitizer bottles.
About 48 thousand officials have been put on polling duty and over 52 thousand police personnel have been deployed for the same. Total 1122 candidates are in the fray including those of major political parties, registered parties and independents for the 150 division Hyderabad Corporation.
In the wake of poor polling percentage in Hyderabad in the past several elections, the State Election Commission has also held an intense voter awareness campaign to motivate electors to come to polling stations to cast their vote.

It may be recalled that the ruling TRS is contesting from all 150 divisions while BJP is in the fray in 149, Congress contesting from 146 divisions while TDP is in fray in 106, MIM in 51 and Left parties in 29 divisions. There are 76 candidates from registered parties and 415 independents too in the fray.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the MLC elections in Telangana?