Siddipet: Kadavergu Manjula, wife of former Municipal Chairman Kadavergu Rajanarsu, was elected as the new Chairperson of Siddipet Municipality by the newly-elected councillors while Kangiti Nagaraju was elected as her deputy.

Manjula and Nagaraju were elected from 24th and 31st wards of the municipality. While Mallikarjun proposed the candidature of Manjula, Gyadthari Ravindar supported it.

Rajanarsu was the chairman of Siddipet for the past two terms.

The Chairperson and Vice-chairman were elected following the directions of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) state leadership and Finance Minister T Harish Rao. Forest Development Corporation Chairman Vanteru Prathap Reddy and Former Karimnagar Mayor Ravindar Singh were deputed as observers of the Chairperson and vice-chairman election by TRS.

The election was a cakewalk for TRS as the party bagged 36 wards out of 43. Meanwhile, five TRS rebels who were elected as independents, rejoined the ruling party in the presence of Harish Rao. This takes the TRS tally in the municipality to 41. BJP and AIMIM have one member each in the house.

Harish Rao and MP Medak Kotha Prabhakar Reddy attended the first meeting of the newly elected council as ex-officio members. After the swearing-in ceremony, which was conducted by Revenue Divisional Officer Husnabad Jayachandra Reddy, the members elected the Chairperson and Vice-chairman. 

The entire election process was conducted in the presence of IAS officer Vasam Venkateshwarlu. who was deputed by the State Election Commission (SEC) as Special Officer.

Collector Siddipet P Venkatrami Reddy and Additional Collector Muzammil Khan were also present.

Earlier, Harish Rao, who conducted newly elected Councillors meeting of the TRS Party at Reddy Function hall ahead of the election, called upon the newly elected members to dedicate themselves to the development of their wards.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) to be played at Southampton, England from June 18?

New Zealand
Can't Say