To ease the traffic jams in and around Koti, Chaderghat and Imliban Bus station areas, the RTC officials are planning to stop the long distance buses entering the city from the Vijayawada side, at LB Nagar or Dilsukhnagar itself and provide the passengers with shuttle services from there to proceed to various places in the city.
While private buses coming from Vijayawada and other places via LB Nagar to Hyderabad, leave in the evening, the RTC buses keep coming and going back after about a recess of about an hour or so, throughout the day. This results in adding to traffic congestion during the day time.
It has been a nightmare for the motorists to travel through the areas like Koti, Chaderghat and Imlibun Bus station, especially during the office and school hours. The Metro Rail works are adding to the woes of the motorists and causing traffic jams till Malakpet and other nearby areas.Around 3,000 buses move out from the Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station (MGBS) and 5,000 buses from different depots in the city every day. The officials have decided to rationalise the movement of buses in these areas.
This move comes after the traffic police suggested that the TSRTC officials stop the long distance buses at LB Nagar or Dilsukhnagar during the peak traffic hours at least. Recently, traffic police officials met the RTC regional managers, 
It was also proposed to change the route of the buses to minimize the traffic congestion nearby the MGBS areas. The buses would be routed from Imliban to Charminar, Aaramgarh cross roads, Chandrayangutta, Owaisi Hospital to LB Nagar via Old Ring Road. Officials expect that around 1,000 buses would be diverted in this route.
The changes would be implemented after getting approval from the higher officials, including the TSRTC chairman S Satyanarayana, said the senior official.
Traffic DCP Ranganath said that the changes in the route would help in decreasing the traffic problem to some extent. The RTC officials have assured to implement these changes soon, he added.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Which political party will win the Delhi Assembly elections?

AAP party