Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao said on Thursday that the government was ready to discuss and debate threadbare all public issues including the Covid situation in the State and the damage caused by the recent rains, during the Monsoon session of the State Legislature beginning Monday.

“The government is also ready to discuss all the issues proposed by political parties even if it would mean extending the session by a few more days,” the Chief Minister said, even as he instructed the Ministers to get prepared to place all facts in the House so that people get to know about the government actions.

The Chief Minister was speaking at a meeting at Pragathi Bhavan here to discuss with Ministers and Whips the strategy to be adopted in the session.

It was decided at the meeting that discussion and debates would be held on matters pertaining to containment of coronavirus, medical treatment given to Covid-19 patients, expansion of medical services in the State, crop loss due to heavy rains and measures to be taken, the fire accident that took place at Srisailam Hydel Project, achievements in the power sector, the New Revenue Act and illegal construction of Rayalaseema Lift Irrigation Scheme by the Andhra Pradesh government.

The House will also take up irrigation sector issues, injustices being meted out to the State while implementing the GST, financial and economic losses due to the financial policies of the Central government, the Centre’s lukewarm response to resolutions passed by the State on reservations, Agriculture sector and the Regulatory Cultivation method, organisation of PV Narasimha Rao centenary celebrations and other issues.

These would be proposed in the Business Advisory Committee (BAC) meeting. The Chief Minister said rich tributes would be paid to Dubbaka MLA Ramalinga Reddy who died recently, on the first day of the session.

Chandrashekhar Rao instructed all the Ministers to be up to date with all the information on issues that would come up for discussion during the session “The Legislative session should be held upholding democratic values. There is no other platform other than the Legislature to discuss matters of public importance and take appropriate decisions. We have to utilise this platform and opportunity,” he said.

Stating that Telangana Legislature should be seen as an ideal for others in the country to follow, he said members should analyse how the programmes and Acts implemented by the government were performing at the field level. “The members should be able to point out lacunae if any. The government will answer each and every query raised by the members, and the ruling party members should also speak about each and every public issue,” the Chief Minister exhorted.

“Legislative session does not mean disturbances, heaping abuses and curses, unruly behaviour or creating pandemonium. It should not be a place to level accusations against one another or give vent to one’s ire. There should be a change in this attitude and the changes should be qualitative in nature,” Chandrashekhar Rao said, adding that there should be healthy debates that should be inspiring and enlightening.

Stating that the debates and discussions should analyse the implementation of Budget and Acts, he said discussions should be high in quality and should be based on facts. “The members should speak in such a way that it helps people understand the issues. Through discussions in the Legislature, democracy should be strengthened on the one side and pro-people decisions should be taken on the other,” he said, adding that this is how the Telangana legislature should function.

“Any member from any party on any subject can speak on the floor of the Houses. The government is always ready to answer any question or give a clarification and implement suggestions which are practical. The member’s views should reflect the facts,” the Chief Minister said, adding that they should reflect ground realities.

Ministers Vemula Prashanth Reddy, KT Rama Rao, T Harish Rao, Etela Rajender, G Jagdeesh Reddy, S Niranjan Reddy, Errabelli Dayakar Rao, Sabita Indrareddy, Legislative Council Chief Whip Bodakunti Venkateswarlu, Whips Prabhakar, Bhanu Prasad, K Damodar Reddy, Legislative Assembly Chief Whip Dasyam Vinaya Bhaskar, whips Gampa Govardhan, Gongadi Sunitha, Balka Suman, Guvvala Balraju, Rega Kantha Rao, Arekapudi Gandhi, Rajya Sabha member J Santosh Kumar, MLCs Palla Rajeshwar Reddy, Seri Subhash Reddy and others participated.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) to be played at Southampton, England from June 18?

New Zealand
Can't Say