Election Commission of India on Thursday announced schedule for the byelection to one MLC seat in Telangana and three seats in Andhra Pradesh under MLA constituencies. The byelection is necessitated in Telangana State after the court disqualified TRS MLC K Yadava Reddy for switching loyalties to the Congress during 2018 elections.

Three MLC posts fell vacant in AP as the incumbents Karanam Balarama Krishna Murthy, A Kali Krishna Srinivas and K Veerabhadra Swamy quit their post to contest in the recently held Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh. As per the schedule, the Commission will issue notification on August 7 and the date of polling is on August 26 and counting will take place on the same day. 

Last date to file nominations is August 14 and August 19 will be the last date to withdraw the nominations. Scrutiny of nomination will be held on August 16, the ECI officials said.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Do you think India is better equipped than China to deal with the coronavirus?

Can't Say