Breakaway TDP MLAs seek merger into TRS

Fri 12 Feb 2016, 19:22:42
Ten TDP legislators, who joined the ruling TRS today urged Telangana Assembly Speaker Sirikonda Madhusudhana Chari to merge their group in the TRS party. With the 10 out of 15 TDP Telangana MLAs joining the TRS, action against them under Anti-defection law cannot be initiated as two-thirds of Telangana TDP MLAs have switched their loyalties and joined the TRS.

A letter seeking merger of breakaway TDP group in the TRS party was handed over to the speaker, which was signed by ten MLAs. It was informed that the breakaway group had a meeting in the TRS bhavan on Thursday and a decision was taken in this regard. They also urged the Speaker to recognize them as TRS members in the House. The letter was signed by Talasani Srinivas Yadav, Errabelli Dayakar Rao, G. Sayanna, Prakash Goud, Teegala Krishna Reddy, Manchireddy Kishan Reddy, Madhavaram Krishna Rao, K P Vivekanand Goud, Dharma Reddy and Rajender Reddy. With this, the TDP is left with five MLAs. Of them Sandra Venkata Veeraiah is likely to join the TRS ahead of the Khammam Municipal Corporation elections. Arikapudi Gandhi too is all set to join the TRS. Greater Hyderabad TDP chief Maganti Gopinath too is reportedly waiting for an offer from the TRS.

After these three MLAs cross over to the ruling party, only Revanth Reddy and R Krishnaiah would remain in the party. It may be mentioned R Krishnaiah is already keeping away from TDP.

The TDP fall began with senior leader Tummala Nageswara Rao joining the TRS. With him, the Khammam unit of the party crumbled. Later, the TRS zeroed in on the Greater Hyderabad and hooked both Talasani and Teegala. Later, Madhavaram, Sayanna and Manchireddy too joined the TRS.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Will day night cricket Test matches increase the popularity in India?

Can't say