All arrangements are in place for Assembly Elections in Telangana tomorrow. Voting will be held for 119 Assembly seats from 7 AM to 6 PM. With the campaigning ending yesterday, all eyes are now on the Election Commission. Telangana Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj informed that Section 144 has been imposed in the state wherein the gathering of four or more people is prohibited. 

Over 2.5 lakh personnel will be engaged in poll duties. 50 companies of Telangana State Special Police and 375 companies of Central forces have been deployed for security arrangement to ensure peaceful polling.

Meanwhile, the state is set for a three-cornered contest in the Assembly polls between ruling BRS, Congress, and BJP. 2 thousand 290 candidates are in the fray. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, Three BJP Lok

Sabha members and three Congress Lok Sabha members are among the prominent candidates. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, PCC President Revanth Reddy and BJP senior Leader E Rajender are contesting from two constituencies each.
In the last Assembly elections held in 2018, the  Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), previously known as Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), won 88 of the 119 seats, with 47.4 percent of vote share. The Congress came on a distant second with 19 seats while the BJP drew one seat.

A total of 2290 candidates from 120 parties including the national and regional and other parties are in the fray. They include 221 women and one transgender. The Election Commission has set up over 35 thousand poling stations in the state. 

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think there should be a retirement age in politics?

Can't Say