The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) has thrown its hat into the ring for the upcoming UP elections. The party has released its list of 11 candidates for the first and second phase of elections, nominations for which will begin on January 17.
The Majlis chose minority dominated Assembly constituencies in Agra, Firozabad, Shamli, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bareilly and Amroha districts to try its electoral fortunes in the most politically significant State in the country. As of now, the party did not forge a tie-up with any political party and decided to go solo.
The candidates for the first phase of poll are Mohd Idris Ali (Agra south), Ahtasham Ali (Firozabad city), Maulana Masiullah

(Kairana) and Parvez Ahmad (Koil). The second phase contestants include Junaid Ayubi (Behat), Talat Khan (Saharanpur), Haji Shahabuddin (Moradabad city), Haji Aslam Ansari (Moradabad Dehat), Israr Hussain (Kundarki), Yaseen Ansari (Bareilly city) and Shamim Ahmad Turq (Amroha city).
The party is expected to release two more lists of candidates for the remaining five phases of the polls. Shoukat Ali, party’s UP unit president, who announced the names of the candidates, said the Majlis would raise the issues pertaining to deprived communities such as Dalits, Muslims and backward classes. These sections have been treated as mere vote banks and not given their due by the parties which ruled UP.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which political party will win the assembly elections in Gujarat?

AAP party