Former champions West Bengal and Goa will clash with each other for the coveted Santosh Trophy in the finals of the football tournament on Sunday. In the Semifinals yesterday West Bengal prevailed over Mizoram 6-5 via sudden death while hosts Goa beat Kerala 2-1 in the second semi-finals. 

Bengal and Mizoram failed to break the deadlock in the regulation and extra time and the match went into penalty shootout, which also locked the teams at 4-4. 31 time winner of the trophy, Bengal emerged victorious and made to the final for the 44th time after Moirangthem Basanta found the net and Lalbiakhlua's shot was saved by Sankar Roy. 
In second semifinal, Goa warded off a stiff second half challenge from Kerala to emerge 2-1 winners. Goa dominated the first half and scored both the goals through Liston Colaco in the 13th and 36th minute. Kerala dominated the second half, pulled one back in the 61st minute through Rahul V Raj. Five times champions Goa thus entered the finals for the 13th time.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

Should Online education system introduced from primary to higher level from the academic year 2020-2021 in Telangana State due to Coronavirus pandemic?

Can't Say