Portugal became the latest team to announce their squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 on Tuesday, May 21. Captain Cristiano Ronaldo scripted history after being picked in the 26-member squad for the record-breaking sixth time.

Ronaldo surpassed the former Spanish skipper Iker Casillas' record of featuring in Euro Championships for five times. The legendary forward famously guided his team to glory in Euro 2016 and is set to lead a strong 26-member side to the 17th edition of the tournament in Germany.

The 39-year-old forward made his international debut in 2003 and was part of a Portuguese team that finished runner-up in the 2004 Euro at home. He was selected in the Team of the Tournament for scoring two goals and providing two assists. 

The Al-Nassr striker boasts the record for most appearances in tournament history and also leads the goalscoring chart with 14 goals in 25 matches. On Ronaldo's selection in the team, head coach Martinez pointed out the forward's physical ability to remain always fit and score consistently.

"Regarding Cristiano, it's better to talk about the data," Martinez said. "He is a player who scores 42 goals in 42

games for his club, and this shows his continuity and physical ability to always be fit, in addition to the quality he has in front of goal that we really like and need." 

Meanwhile, there were no real surprises in Pourtugal's squad for the tournament with nine players from the English Premier League dominating the list.

Portugal squad for Euro 2024
Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa (FC Porto), Jose Sa (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Rui Patricio (AS Roma).

Defenders: Antonio Silva (SL Benfica), Danilo Pereira (PSG), Diogo Dalot (Manchester United), Goncalo Inacio (Sporting CP), Joao Cancelo (FC Barcelona), Nelson Semedo (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Nuno Mendes (PSG), Pepe (FC Porto), Raben Dias (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Joao Neves (SL Benfica), Joao Palhinha (Fulham FC), Otavio Monteiro (Al Nassr), Ruben Neves (Al-Hilal), Vitinha (PSG).

Forwards: Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Al Nassr), Diogo Jota (Liverpool FC), Francisco Conceicao (FC Porto), Goncalo Ramos (PSG), Joao Felix (FC Barcelona), Pedro Neto (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Rafael Leao (AC Milan).
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
etemaad live tv watch now

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which Men's cricket team will win the T20 World Cup 2024?

New Zealand