Argentina football player Lionel Messi won the men’s Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time and Barcelona's Alexia Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or on Tuesday.

The 34-year-old Messi led Argentina to the Copa America title in July after losing in four major international finals.

The 27-year-old midfielder Putellas won the award for the first time after helping Barca win the treble and scored 26 goals in 42 games overall. She netted in the Champions League final against Chelsea, and in August she was named UEFA women’s player of the year.

The only previous women’s award winners are Norway striker Ada Hegerberg in 2018, and US forward Megan

Rapinoe in 2019. The 2020 awards were canceled because the coronavirus pandemic disrupted the season.

Cristiano Ronaldo finishes outside the top three in the Ballon d’Or for the first time since 2010.

Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski won the “Striker of the year” while Italy stopper Gianluigi Donnarumma clinched the best goalkeeper award. The Kopa Trophy for best young player went to Barcelona’s Pedri. Chelsea, meanwhile, won the best club award.

Ballon d'Or awards by France Football magazine, the Ballon d'Or has been given out to men every year since 1956 when Stanley Matthews won.

No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Do you think Rishi Sunak can win the race to be the next UK prime minister?

Can't Say