The rising English footballer Jude Bellingham won the Golden Boy 2023 award on Friday, November 17. The attacking midfielder has been enjoying terrific form at both club and international levels in 2023 and rightfully deserves the prestigious award given to under-21 talents.

Bellingham, 20, beat the likes of Germany's Florian Wirtz and Jamal Musiala to clinch the award. He joined Spanish football giants Real Madrid for a whooping transfer fee of €103 million from German football club Borussia Dortmund in June 2023. Bellingham becomes the first-ever player from Los Blancos to earn this award since its inception in 2003.

The award is given by Italian newspaper Tuttosport to the best youngster under the age of 21 based on performances in a calendar year. Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, and Erling Haaland have previously won this award. Barcelona and Spanish youngster Gavi won this award in 2022 and his

club and national teammate Pedri in 2021.

Bellingham becomes the only third English footballer to earn this award. Raheem Sterling clinched it in 2014 for Liverpool while the former Everton and Manchester United forward Wayne Rooney was the first English recipient in 2004. 

Bellingham rejected interest from English Premier League giants Liverpool and Manchester City and it worked miracles for him. The youngster has taken La Liga by storm with 10 goals and two assists in just 11 appearances so far. He has also found the net three times in three UEFA Champions League matches this season. He recently suffered a shoulder injury and has been ruled out from England's upcoming Euro 2024 qualifiers.

The former Birmingham midfielder also made the contenders list in the Ballon d'Or award this year and will officially awarded with a Golden Boy title on December 4 at a ceremony in Turin.
No Comments For This Post, Be first to write a Comment.
Leave a Comment
Enter the code shown:

Can't read the image? click here to refresh

Todays Epaper

English Weekly

neerus indian ethnic wear
Latest Urdu News

Which cricket team will win the IPL 2024?

Rajasthan Royals
Kolkata Knight Riders
Lucknow Super Giants